(L-R): Secretary of State for the Economy, Francine Closener; Sports Minister, Romain Schneider; Credit: Ministère de l'Economie

On Friday 9 March 2018, the Luxembourg Olympic and Sports Committee (COSL) signed a partnership initiative with 24 national sports federations as well as six high-level Luxembourg athletes of high level, at an event held at the National Sports and Cultural Centre at d'Coque in Luxembourg-Kirchberg.

The partnership initiatives have been allocated a total budget of €250,000 for the co-financing of partnerships with the sports movement as part of the deployment of the Nation Branding strategy, which represents a 30% increase over 2017.

Sport is a significant partner in the process of promoting Luxembourg, particularly in the context of international sporting events that take place both abroad and in Luxembourg. Therefore, the involvement of sport as part of the "LuXembourg - let's make it happen" initiative involves a direct collaboration with many representatives of Luxembourg sport who contribute to the influence and promotion of the country beyond its borders.

By aligning with the efforts established by the Nation Branding strategy, the signatories undertake to promote the "Luxembourg Signature" by reproducing the country's visual identity on their various media communications, including official outfits and jerseys at international competitions. Throughout the duration of the partnership, the sports federations undertake to contribute actively to the influence of Luxembourg in the world by conveying the common values ​​and messages within the framework of their national and international communication (social networks, Internet presence, media, ads, events, etc.).

Luxembourg's Secretary of State for the Economy, Francine Closener, said in her speech: "With its positive image and its cohesive strength, sport is a key element for the deployment of the Luxembourg Signature. Sport in general and especially top athletes contribute to the reputation of our country. As sports ambassadors, they share and propagate the same values: dynamism, reliability and open-mindedness."

Sports Minister Romain Schneider commented: "The major international sporting events organised in Luxembourg offer a great opportunity to promote the country, especially through the images broadcast on many television channels. With the passage of the Tour de France, the cyclo-cross world championships and the European table tennis team championships held in Luxembourg in 2017, we have shown not only that the Grand Duchy is a nation of bikes, but also a country capable of hosting major sporting events."​

The sports federations included:

1. Comité Olympique et Sportif Luxembourgeois (COSL)
2. Fédération Luxembourgeoise de Football (FLF)
3. Fédération du Sport Cycliste Luxembourgeois (FSCL)
4. Fédération Luxembourgeoise de Basketball (FLBB)
5. Fédération Luxembourgeoise de Tennis de Table (FLTT)
6. Fédération Luxembourgeoise de Handball (FLH)
7. Fédération Luxembourgeoise de Natation et de Sauvetage (FLNS)
8. Fédération Luxembourgeoise de Tennis (FLT)
9. Fédération Luxembourgeoise de Volleyball (FLVB)
10. Special Olympics (ALPAPS)
11. Fédération Luxembourgeoise d'Athlétisme (FLA)
12. Fédération Luxembourgeoise d'Escrime (FLE)
13. Fédération Luxembourgeoise de Tir à l'Arc (FLTA)
14. Fédération Aéronautique Luxembourgeoise (FAL) 
15. Fédération Luxembourgeoise de Badminton (FELUBA)
16. Fédération Luxembourgeoise de Triathlon (FLTri)
17. Fédération Luxembourgeoise Des Echecs (FLDE)
18. Luxembourg Paralympic Committee (LPC)
19. Fédération Luxembourgeoise de Ski (FLS)
20. Fédération Luxembourgeoise de Marche Populaire (FLMP)
21. Fédération Luxembourgeoise de Rugby (FLR)
22. Baseball and Softball Federation Luxembourg (BSFL)
23. Indiaca Federatioun Lëtzebuerg (IFL)
24. Fédération Luxembourgeoise des Pêcheurs Sportifs (FLPS)
25. Luxemburger Lacross Club und Verband​

The athletes included: Gilles MULLER (tennis), Mandy MINELLA (tennis), Christine MAJERUS (cycling), Ralph DISEVISCOURT (extreme sports, cycling), Kimberly NELTING (karate), Dylan PEREIRA (motorsports).​